Phase 1: My first foray into the world of code

I have never blogged before, but here goes nothing.

I have quite a bit of interest in code and have for a few years, but now I am in the deep end and learning how to swim. I noted that I have more skill in JavaScript and HTML than I do DOM manipulation, so I should practice learning with it. Something about making so many variables to hold functions when I would rather just make functions. I can see how the variables help for ease of access, however.

I am quite interested in how JavaScript and other code languages come together to create websites and applications. I know I wanted to learn code languages that were more for programs outside of web development, but we all have to start somewhere. I'm sure there is plenty of knowledge on how to make something great with the languages I am currently learning.